I’ve been skeptical about this series for a while now. I’ve seen it around everywhere and often heard about it, but for some reason I kept putting off reading it.I’ll admit that it just didn’t seem to appeal to me very much at first, but like I said before Throne of Glass books were constantly being thrown in my face everywhere I turn.

So I finally decided to test the waters in the world of Sarah J. Mass’ series and I downloaded the e-book copy of the first installment.Now let me just say WOW! Before I knew it I finished the first book and rushed to the nearest Barnes and Noble to get part two, “Crown of Midnight” and  I simply could not put it down. These books were so meticulously written and well crafted that I just have to tip my hat off to Sarah J. Mass. I was truly amazed at how much I enjoyed these two books. I will definitely recommend this read to fantasy book lovers and not to underestimate it like I previously did. The main character whose name is Celaena is so refreshing. It’s nice to read about a strong female lead filled with such wit and so much passion.

Throne of Glass – Book One ( Spoiler Free)

Celaena is a notorious assassin who was eventually captured and enslaved to work in a salt mine as her punishment.After spending one year there she was then offered a chance at freedom if she participated in a competition to be the new royal assassin known as the King’s Champion.The prince, Dorian Havilliard, offered this opportunity to Celaena ,but only if she entered as his contestant. If she wins she’ll have a four year contract working for a King she despises and then she will be free to go.The competition consists of a series of tests where the weaker contestants will be eliminated after each one. However something mysterious starts killing off the competitors one by one as the competition progresses and Celaena starts to investigate before she becomes a victim as well, but she found out a lot more than she anticipated.

Crown of Midnight – Book Two ( spoiler free)

This sequel was just completely amazing and even greater than the first book. In this book we see Celaena beginning to doubt herself as she questions where her loyalties lie and where her relationships stand with all those closest to her. So much more is revealed in this sequel and we even get a peek into Celaena’s past and therefore understanding her a lot more than we did in the first book.

Now that’s all I can say without giving away too much,but I can tell you for sure that you will not regret giving this series a try. I’m currently reading the third installment, “Heir of Fire” and will definitely post about it once I’m done 🙂

Love,

Toni

2 thoughts on “Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Toni, I am loving your site! I think you have really opened my eyes to a great new series here — I actually haven’t heard of it but I am really interested now! Keep up the good work, and good luck reading all of those books by the end of December! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, I’m happy you enjoyed my page. This series is really great and I hope you check it out.Feel free to contact me anytime and let me know what you think 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.